Cards in the Done or Trash column, of a Task Board or Scrum Board, cannot be modified without first moving them out of Done or Trash: this is different from how boards worked before, and we made this change as part of our recent update where we introduced the concept of Archives.
There are a couple of reasons why we did this:
It seems like common-sense: if you have deleted a card, or marked it as Done, why would you be making changes to it? If the card needs changes, or someone wants to do chat or any other updates, that card isn’t really deleted or done, is it?
It matches the behavior of Archived Projects: when you move a project into the Archive in your account, that project is frozen in its current state, and remains frozen while it is in the Archive.For symmetry and ease of understanding of the concepts of “Done” and “Archive”, it made sense that Done cards should also be frozen.
Here’s a quick primer on how to delete projects you are no longer working on, and how to retrieve them later from your Trash (think “Recycle Bin” if you are a PC user) if you change your mind.
The first point to note is that closing a project is not the same as deleting it: when you are looking at your Boards view, you can have several projects open, each in its own tab. If you hover over any of the project tabs, you will see an “x”: clicking this will close the project.
This is a lot like closing a browser tab: it doesn’t kill the website that you were viewing; it just means you are no longer viewing it yourself. In the same way, closing a project tab doesn’t delete the project.
If you actually want to delete a project, click on the “Projects” button, in the top-left corner of the Kerika app (as shown above), and you will see a list of all your projects:
Here, you can select an individual project, and then Cut, Copy, or Delete it:
These buttons also appear when you use your right-mouse button, while working on a desktop or laptop:
If you click on the Trash button (or select “Move to Trash” from the right-click menu), your project will get deleted.
Deleted projects go into a Trash, which is like a Recycle Bin: you can retrieve it later if you change your mind or make a mistake.
The Projects Trash appears just above your list of projects:
Whenever a project is moved to the Trash, the Project Trash button glows orange, briefly, to alert you. Click on the button and you will see a list of all the projects that are in your Projects Trash:
You can now select an individual project, and choose to either restore it, or delete it permanently:
So, that’s it: a simple way to delete projects, and retrieve them later if you made a mistake.
We have always had a Trash (or Recycle Bin) at every level of Kerika: anything that you delete goes into a Trash that’s associated with that view, so that if you make mistakes you can easily recover from them.
But, the way to retrieve deleted projects was not very clear: the functionality was there, but it was kind of buried so we are making that easier to find and use:
The Trash icon shows you how many deleted projects you can retrieve: this includes all projects that you, or anyone else deleted, where you were a Project Leader or Team Member.
This means that you can retrieve projects that were deleted by mistake by other Team Members!
It’s a pretty neat feature, and it works as you would expect:
All part of our next release — enjoy!
Privacy & Cookies Policy
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.
Any cookies that may not be particularly necessary for the website to function and is used specifically to collect user personal data via analytics, ads, other embedded contents are termed as non-necessary cookies. It is mandatory to procure user consent prior to running these cookies on your website.