This puts Kerika ahead of moves that Google and Microsoft will soon take, for the Chrome and Internet Explorer browsers, respectively, that will start showing warning signs when you visit a website that uses the older SHA-1 certificates.
If you are not sure whether your favorite secure site has upgraded to SHA-2, Symantec has a helpful tool you can use:
If you are working off a long Backlog (like we do at Kerika!), then you will have many Scrum Boards that pull items off this shared Backlog over time, and with our new Archive feature you will want to freeze old Scrum Boards as you get done with Sprints.
(Each Sprint should be done as a separate Scrum Board, that connects to the same Backlog.)
When you archive one particular Scrum Board, you only freeze that board: the Backlog remains available for use — and modification — by other Scrum Boards, now and in the future.
Which means that when you open an Archived Scrum Board, the view you will get of the Backlog will show the Backlog as it exists today, not as it existed when you archived the Scrum Board.
Cards in the Done or Trash column, of a Task Board or Scrum Board, cannot be modified without first moving them out of Done or Trash: this is different from how boards worked before, and we made this change as part of our recent update where we introduced the concept of Archives.
Done cards
There are a couple of reasons why we did this:
It seems like common-sense: if you have deleted a card, or marked it as Done, why would you be making changes to it? If the card needs changes, or someone wants to do chat or any other updates, that card isn’t really deleted or done, is it?
It matches the behavior of Archived Projects: when you move a project into the Archive in your account, that project is frozen in its current state, and remains frozen while it is in the Archive.For symmetry and ease of understanding of the concepts of “Done” and “Archive”, it made sense that Done cards should also be frozen.
Here’s another new feature with our latest update: when a project is done, you can drag it to the Archive column on your Home page.
Archiving Projects
Archiving a project freezes it: no one can make any changes to it while it is in the Archive, so if you change your mind and want to make some changes to an archived project, you need to drag it back out of the Archive and into your Projects column.
All the documents attached to an Archived Project are frozen: the goal here is to preserve the final/completed state of a project and all its assets, so that later on if you need to investigate a problem — or deal with a FOIA request or some other legal disclosure requirement — you can do so with confidence.
All dates, status, chat and teams are also frozen: if someone was part of an Archived Project’s team at the time the project was moved to the Archive, they will continue to show up on that project team.
If a task had a due date and hadn’t yet been completed (i.e. the card hadn’t yet been moved to the Done column), that due date stays intact.
If the project was a Scrum Board, it will continue to stay attached to the Backlog it was using at the time the board got archived: when you view an archived Scrum Board, it will show that Backlog in it’s current state. This makes it easy to archive Scrum Boards that represent different Sprints that work off the same shared Backlog!
You can change your mind: If you need to work again on a previously archived project, just drag it out of the Archive column and drop it into the Projects column on your Home Page, and that will “un-archive” (restore) your project.
You can create templates from archived projects: if you drag an archived project and drop it into the Templates column on your Home Page, that will create a template based upon that project, while leaving the project in your Archive.
Beth talked about her own background in project management — how she started off as a chemist and researcher, and gradually found her way into project management and IT over the years — and how she used Kerika to transition from a classic “Waterfall” style of project management to something more Agile.
The presentation was very well received, and she has graciously agreed to share it with everyone :-)
A couple of weeks ago we expanded your privacy choices to make it more easy for your account team to discover your projects and templates, which is something that our enterprise users had been asking for.
With the update we did this past weekend, one small change you might notice is on your Home Page: the Templates column on this page will sort all the available templates like this:
Templates you create are shown first; presumably these are the most important ones from your perspective.
Next, we show you templates created by other people where you are part of the project team.
Next, we show you templates that are being made available to you because they are being shared within account teams.
And then, finally, we list all the templates that Kerika itself offers.
When we first built Kerika, we emphasized privacy strongly — too strongly, in retrospect, particularly for our enterprise users: Kerika made it too hard for your colleagues to discover your work, since they could know about a board only if you had added them to the board’s team.
With our newest update to Kerika, we are addressing that concern: you can now make projects viewable by your Account Team.
Setting privacy on a board
If you set a project’s privacy to be “Viewable by the Account Team”, anyone who is part of your account team — i.e. all the folks that are currently working as Team Members on all the projects owned by your account — can discover it.
Our latest update to the Kerika software features a bunch of bug fixes and other improvements that are mostly under the covers, as several user interface tweaks to help improve usability.
One change you will notice right away is that when you open a card, the details dialog box has new tabs for Tags and History: this was done to make it easier for people to find these functions, which were previously tucked away within the tab for the card’s description.
Card Details
The History tab is all the way at the bottom now, where it’s easily accessible but not in the way — since History is not a frequently used function.
There are other UI tweaks: icons have been modernized and the overall look is cleaner, and the Trash column of a board now shows you when each card was deleted.
You used to be able to sort all the cards in a column by Due Date, now you can also sort them by person and by status!
Sort By
This makes it even easier than before to manage large boards:
Sorting By Status organizes cards as follows:
Critical
Is Blocked
Needs Review
Needs Rework
Ready to Pull
Hold
This makes it easy to organize your day: all the most important stuff, e.g. the cards that are Critical or Blocked, come to the top of the column where they are not likely to be overlooked.
Sort by Person organizes cards so that you can see all the items that are assigned to individuals: all the cards assigned to Arun, for example, will show up together within the column.
And where cards are assigned to several people, a simple alphabetical sort is applied on the names.
You still have Sort by Date: Kerika is smart about showing you only those sorting options that are relevant to your situation, and if a particular column doesn’t have any Due Dates, this sort option is not shown.
We just made it easier for you to manage very large boards :-)